none
Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard - creating full system image

Question

• What is the best way to create a full system image with Windows server 2008 R2 Std?  For instance, I would like to create a full system image of my server to a portable HD.  Lets say one day my server is stolen and I had to purchase a second server.  From that HD and Windows CD I want to be able to hit restore on this new server.   This new server works, functions, has all the programs, drivers, set up, etc like the first server.  Basically, I want to be able to create a full system image or back up that I could use to make clone of any server of the same brand.

Would I have to purchase a specific software for that?  Is 2008 R2 capable of this?

Responding in laymen terms would be highly appreciated since I am very new at this.

• Edited by Mugen 911 Monday, May 06, 2013 5:15 PM
    Monday, May 06, 2013 5:13 PM

Answers

• Hi,

If Techco group means the user group which perform the backup process, then it is important as user will not have permission to perform a backup if it is not a domain admin or Backup oprators.

For the diffrerence between BMR vs Full System Backup, I assume you mean "system state" vs BMR.

System State could help you restore current system to a previous status. and BMR could help you restore the server to another computer as disaster recovery.

And if you mean "Full Server" in Windows Server Backup GUI (with the other option "Custom"), it should means the whole system including all  volumes.

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc755163.aspx

TechNet Subscriber Support in forum |If you have any feedback on our support, please contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

• Marked as answer by Mugen 911 Thursday, May 16, 2013 1:28 PM
    Wednesday, May 08, 2013 11:10 AM
  • BMR backup will try to backup your critical volumes, which are sufficient to replicate your working workstation. Data volumes you can add optionally.