How to give a user permissions to start and stop services on Windows 2008

Question

•  I'm trying to give a domain user rights to start and stop services on Windows 2008 server but I don't want to give the user local admin rights.  I've used "subinacl" tool but no success.  I'm using "sc" command to execute the stop, start, and query command from a remote computer and I can do this if I give the user local admin rights on the server where the service resides.  No other built in group works other than the local admin group. 
    • Edited by jarmea Wednesday, February 04, 2009 6:21 PM
    Wednesday, February 04, 2009 2:23 PM

Answers

• hi there,

i would like to know why do you want to give domain users the permissions to start and stop the service.

by default all the services are managed / symbolic link is provided in registry .Default which will have the control which user to start and stop the service.

but as an enterprise architect i would not prefer you to fiddle around the service, unless they are custom service / service which you have written.
    sainath Windows Driver Development
    Wednesday, February 04, 2009 5:29 PM

All replies

• hi there,

i would like to know why do you want to give domain users the permissions to start and stop the service.

by default all the services are managed / symbolic link is provided in registry .Default which will have the control which user to start and stop the service.

but as an enterprise architect i would not prefer you to fiddle around the service, unless they are custom service / service which you have written.
    sainath Windows Driver Development
    Wednesday, February 04, 2009 5:29 PM
  •  thanks for your reply.