none
Ubuntu 10.04 migration from VMWare to WIn8 Hyper V fails if load hv_XX drivers

Question

• I've converted a VMware (Ubuntu 10.04.  Linux 2.6.32-37) virtual hard disk to VHD.

I've created a Win 8 Hyper-V virtual machine.

I've uninstalled the VMware additions.

At this point I have a working Ubuntu installation with no network access.

Next I tried following this http://social.technet.microsoft.com/wiki/contents/articles/961.aspx to include the hv_XXX drivers.  This appeared to succeed, but when I rebooted the VM it crashed.  By crashed I mean that A saw a series of text lines appear after which the VM is unresponsive except for a reboot. I don't know if this is a trace or a stack dump (I am NOT a Linux expert).

I manage to remove the drivers by booting into the Linux equivalent of safe mode and reversing the changes.

The drivers appear to be present on the machine and the hv_vmbus is installed (after the changes reversed), but none of the others.

I've changed the network adapter to a legacy one and I now have a working installation, although it seems slow and clunky.

I really have no idea how to diagnose this.  Are the hv_modules incompatible with the hyper-v I'm using?  Is that fact that the installation was originally under VMware causing issues (even though I think I've installed the VMware bits?).

Any help much appreciated!

Iain

Iain Downs

• Edited by IainDowns2 Sunday, January 06, 2013 11:49 AM
    Sunday, January 06, 2013 11:48 AM

Answers

• What I've done is to update the Linux kernel to the latest 'virtual' kernel.  I'm now running 3.0 rather than 2.6.X

This appears to be somewhat more performant and various of the hv_ drivers are now loaded (including hv_netsvc).  So I'm assuming that Linux is now playing nicely with the hyper-v stuff.

It wasn't quite as scary as I expected.

Thanks

Iain

Iain Downs

• Marked as answer by IainDowns2 Friday, January 11, 2013 8:56 PM
    Friday, January 11, 2013 8:55 PM

All replies