none
Group Policy Administration Templates how do i import these

Question

• Hey everyone

i am new to group policy in 2008 and R2 and i have not really done much in 2003 either

our domain controllers here where upgraded from a 2003 SBS server to a windows 2008R2 Domain, now a lot of the Group policy objects that i am supposed to have are missing, and people are telling me to copy admx and adml files around, my issues is i am confused on where they actually go, i have them on my win7 machine but where exactly on the domain controller do i copy them too

thanks for any help, i know this might come off as a stupid question

Thursday, January 31, 2013 6:54 AM

Answers

All replies

• Hi,

Refer below steps.

To add or remove a classic Administrative Template file (.adm file)

• Using the Local Group Policy Editor, open the Local Group Policy object you want to edit.

• In the console tree, under either Computer Configuration or User Configuration, right-click Administrative Templates.

• Click Add/Remove Templates.

• Do one of the following:

• To add a template, click Add. In the Policy Templates dialog box, click the template you want to add, and then click Open.
      • To remove a template, in the Current Policy Templates list, click the template, and then click Remove.

=================for more information, please refer below link==============

http://www.petri.co.il/adding_new_administrative_templates_to_gpo.htm

Regards,

MD Disclaimer: The opinion expressed herein are my own knowledge. Deploy this at your own risk. Whenever you see a helpful reply, just click on “Propose As Answer” / “Marked As Answer” and please do "VOTE".

Thursday, January 31, 2013 7:29 AM
  • i have tried that but none of the templates can be viewed in the browse window when i click on Add, then i see articles about people talking about then central store in sysvol, and this is getting confusing
    Thursday, January 31, 2013 9:43 PM