none
Windows Server 2012 RD Connection Broker Installation

    Question

  • I am unable to install RD Connection Broker in Windows Server 2012 Physical machine, I have tried many different resources and techniques, yet cannot find a solution, may be this is happening only to me.  I have even tried to install all components on a single server but it fails again, there are no failure logs nor setup related logs under c:\windows\logs .  I have read somewhere about SQL requirement and did install SQL on the server I am trying to install RD, please help me with a step by step (though some online resources talk this as a straightforward installation), for me this has not been so straight.

    


    Syed Saleem, PMP

    Wednesday, September 19, 2012 7:22 AM

Answers

  • After toiling and trying everything under the Sun, I decided to re-install the servers exactly the same way I did earlier and included all components and applications before trying with RDS and it WORKED, this means that it will remain a mystery why it didn't work and it is little discomforting of all the features that have not yet been tested.


    Syed Saleem, PMP

    • Marked as answer by Saleem S A Monday, September 24, 2012 1:35 PM
    Monday, September 24, 2012 1:27 PM

All replies

  • Hi,

    The RD Connection Broker in Windows Server 2012 does not require you to install a SQL Server instance. Upon initial installation, a RD Connection Broker will use a SQL instance locally on the RD Connection Broker Server installed by the wizard. Upon making the RD Connection Broker High Availably (HA) you will need a SQL Server Instance running. Making the RD Connection Broker HA will result in movement of the database the RD Connection Broker(s) use to a central SQL Server instance. More specific info on that here:

    Installing and configuring RD Connection Broker High Availibilty in Windows Server 2012

    About the installation itself, yes that is in fact pretty straight forward. There is a step-by-step guide in installing the Quick Deployment (RD Connection Broker, RD Session Host and RD Web Access) here:
    Deploying the RDS Quick Start deployment type in Windows Server 2012 (for Session Virtualization)

    And there is a step-by-step guide in installing the standard deployment here:
    Deploying the RDS Standard deployment type in Windows Server 2012 (for Session Virtualization)

    In case you still have issues, there is a way to enable tracing and debugging to do so follow these steps:

    Enabling RDMS UI Tracing

    When troubleshooting any problem with Scenario Based Installation or Collection Creation, the RDMS UI Logs should be enabled. RDMS UI logs must be enabled by using Event Viewer and adding a SYSTEM environment variable to the Connection Broker (RDMS) server.

    To enable RDMS UI log and Event Logs, do the following:

      • Open an administrative CMD prompt and create a system environment variable named RDMSUI_TRACING and set the value to 1.
      • Launch Server Manager from the same CMD window by entering servermanager and then pressing Enter.
      • Open Event Viewer, click View in the Menu Bar, and then click Show Analytic and Debug Logs.
      • In Event Viewer, navigate to the following path: Applications and Services Logs\Microsoft\Windows\RDMS-UI\Debug. Right click on Debug log and select Enable Log.


    Kind regards,
    Freek Berson
    The Microsoft Platform
    Twitter
    Linked-in
    Wortell company website

    Wednesday, September 19, 2012 9:32 AM
    Moderator
  • I have had the same problems, I'm trying to work them out today.

    If you look at the events lo you will see that the services cannot start (e.g connection broker), they are all dependent on Windows Internal Database.

    When you try to start the Windows Internal Database, it fails due to the account it is running as not have permissions, mine was set to log on as "NT Service", I have now swapped the account to "Network Service" instead and all but one service starts.  So this might be your first step.

    Wednesday, September 19, 2012 11:50 AM
  • I enabled the logging and noticed no errors during the installation, but the install failed again with same error message on the UI.

    The logs gave no errors.

    I am trying to install the RD Connection Broker on one Server and the Host Role on two additional Servers


    Syed Saleem, PMP

    Wednesday, September 19, 2012 12:24 PM
  • Did you try swapping the Windows internal Database server to run as "Network Service" and not as NT service.  I have tried that and it corrected my problem.
    • Proposed as answer by Nick Prignano Tuesday, September 02, 2014 5:24 AM
    • Unproposed as answer by Nick Prignano Tuesday, September 02, 2014 5:34 AM
    Wednesday, September 19, 2012 2:56 PM
  • I changed from "network service" to NT Service and tried again, but noticed in the RDMS-UI Log, that it waited at 91% for a very long time (over 20 minutes) and failed with the same error as attached through the earlier screenshot

    RDMS-UI Log: Component CommandLetExecutor: Job Progress Received for cmdlet: RDManagement\Set-VDIDeployment - Start Installation... - 91% completed


    Syed Saleem, PMP

    Wednesday, September 19, 2012 4:01 PM
  • What release of Windows Server 2012 are you using? RC or RTM?

    Kind regards,
    Freek Berson
    The Microsoft Platform
    Twitter
    Linked-in
    Wortell company website

    Wednesday, September 19, 2012 5:46 PM
    Moderator
  • Windows Server 2012 Datacenter - RTM

    Syed Saleem, PMP

    Wednesday, September 19, 2012 6:03 PM
  • Hi,

    Did you try to use the domain admin account to install the Windows Server 2012 RD Connection Broker?

    Anyway,Pls also try to use the powershell to see whether the installation can be continued.

    Setting up a new Remote Desktop Services deployment using Windows PowerShell:http://blogs.msdn.com/b/rds/archive/2012/07/18/setting-up-a-new-remote-desktop-services-deployment-using-windows-powershell.aspx

    Introduction to Windows PowerShell scripting in Windows Server 2012 Remote Desktop Services:http://blogs.msdn.com/b/rds/archive/2012/06/28/introduction-to-windows-powershell-scripting-in-windows-server-2012-remote-desktop-services.aspx

    Regards,

    Clarence

    TechNet Subscriber Support

    If you are TechNet Subscription user and have any feedback on our support quality, please send your feedbackhere.


    Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.


    Thursday, September 20, 2012 6:39 AM
    Moderator
  • Yes, I have always tried with the Domain Admin Account, tried couple of times with Powershell as well, but the situation did not improve.

    Syed Saleem, PMP

    Friday, September 21, 2012 2:02 PM
  • Hi,

    What other roles have you been installing on this RDCB?Is it on physical machine?As server 2012 rtm is just released,If possible,pls just try to recreate a new VM to see whether it works.Most of us create the vm-based or session-based deployment without issues.

    If the issue persists when you setup a new deployment on the new VM,pls let me know.

    regards,

    Clarence


    Please remember to click “Mark as Answer” on the post that helps you, and to click “Unmark as Answer” if a marked post does not actually answer your question. This can be beneficial to other community members reading the thread.

    Monday, September 24, 2012 3:06 AM
    Moderator
  • I am getting similar problems trying to install RDCB on the Foundation Edition RTM. The install stops halfway through and claims a failure due to a pending reboot. At the same time, all the roles installed turn red in the dashboard view, with an error message like "
    GIGAS12 192.168.2.25 Online - Cannot get role and feature data 9/23/2012 11:10:34 PM

    " 10+ reboots having solved the problem. I've found similar reports searching through the forums, but not solution...  Thanks for any help! Paolo

    Monday, September 24, 2012 3:17 AM
  • Hey All...

    I too am having the same issues...
     
    I ran the following in powershell and got this result...
     
    PS C:\Users\Administrator> add-windowsfeature RDS-Connection-Broker
     
    add-windowsfeature : The request to add or remove features on the specified server failed.
     Installation of one or more roles, role services, or features failed. Error: 0x800f0922
     At line:1 char:1
     + add-windowsfeature RDS-Connection-Broker
     + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
         + CategoryInfo          : InvalidOperation: (@{Vhd=; Credent...Name=localhost}:PSObject) [Install-WindowsFeature], Exception
         + FullyQualifiedErrorId : DISMAPI_Error__Failed_To_Enable_Updates,Microsoft.Windows.ServerManager.Commands.AddWindowsFeatureCommand
     
    Success Restart Needed Exit Code      Feature Result                             
     ------- -------------- ---------      --------------                             
     False   No             Failed         {}                                         

    On investigation on the above error and it was pointing towards Net-Framework-Core needing to be installed?

    So I installed that successfully

    Add-WindowsFeature -Name Net-Framework-Core

    Tried to install RDS-Connection-Broker again

    PS C:\Users\Administrator> add-windowsfeature RDS-Connection-Broker

    add-windowsfeature : The request to add or remove features on the specified server failed.
    The operation cannot be completed, because the server that you specified requires a restart.
    At line:1 char:1
    + add-windowsfeature RDS-Connection-Broker
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : DeviceError: (@{Vhd=; Credent...Name=localhost}:PSObject) [Install-WindowsFeature], Exception
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : DISMAPI_Error__Failed_Reboot_Required,Microsoft.Windows.ServerManager.Commands.AddWindowsFeatureCommand

    Success Restart Needed Exit Code      Feature Result                              
    ------- -------------- ---------      --------------                              
    False   No             Failed         {}                                          


    Bah-bow!

    Doesn't matter how many times I reboot in a row and then try to install I'm getting the same issue...

    Perhaps my error messages might help some Win2k12 guns out there?

    Roland

    Monday, September 24, 2012 9:26 AM
  • Hi,

    Could the below steps be the solution in your environment?

    Server has pending reboots

    If a server has been recently patched or is still pending a reboot after the installation of a role service or feature, the RDMS deployment may fail a compatibility check.

    To resolve this issue, reboot the server to finish the installation or servicing of the server.

    If several reboots fail to resolve the issue, the registry may contain a registry key that indicates there are pending file rename operations.  If the following registry value exists, it may cause Server Manager to detect that the server has pending reboots:

    HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\PendingFileRenameOperations

    To resolve this issue, determine the component that the listed modules belong to and then determine if it is safe to delete this registry value. Some applications may write to the registry value but do not properly delete the value after the files are renamed, or there may have been a problem with the patch or update that was installed. It is recommended that you backup this registry key before deleting it, and then run the Scenario Based Deployment wizard again after deleting the registry value.


    Kind regards,
    Freek Berson
    The Microsoft Platform
    Twitter
    Linked-in
    Wortell company website

    Monday, September 24, 2012 9:30 AM
    Moderator
  • Hi,

    Could the below steps be the solution in your environment?

    Server has pending reboots

    Hi Freek,

    Unfortunately not for me... that registry entry isn't there.

    Roland

    Monday, September 24, 2012 9:37 AM
  • After toiling and trying everything under the Sun, I decided to re-install the servers exactly the same way I did earlier and included all components and applications before trying with RDS and it WORKED, this means that it will remain a mystery why it didn't work and it is little discomforting of all the features that have not yet been tested.


    Syed Saleem, PMP

    • Marked as answer by Saleem S A Monday, September 24, 2012 1:35 PM
    Monday, September 24, 2012 1:27 PM
  • Hi there. I saw this conversation at an earlier point yesterday, when I was stuck in exactly the same position as you were.

    I found in the end that everything installed flawlessly when the Hyper-V host was joined to the domain as a member server, but not running as Domain Controller. It seemed to me that having the AD DC role installed meant that the broker service would not install and everything else failed, even after trying to reinstall about 50 times on 2 different servers. As soon as it was demoted, as a DC, all was good. Microsoft specify in their literature that installion of various RDS related roles on a DC is ill advised.

    In my mind this begs a concern though - I'd tried setting up a seperate AD Forest just for the Hyper-V hosts I'm running, but it looks like they have to be made part of an existing Forest which (in my instance) is going to be in existence through VMs hosted on the Hyper-V Servers. I worry that there could be login and other issues if a given Hyper-V server failed, and I tried to fire up the VM replicas on another Hyper-V host that then refused to log in due to AD being out and no authentication. I'm hoping it won't happen, but will be running some tests....

    Just thought I'd share my experience in case that helps any one.

    Cheers,

    Bobby

    • Proposed as answer by Windsurfer_Dude Tuesday, September 25, 2012 9:47 AM
    Monday, September 24, 2012 4:54 PM
  • I found in the end that everything installed flawlessly when the Hyper-V host was joined to the domain as a member server, but not running as Domain Controller.

    Hey Bobby!

    Thanks for the tip! I demoted my DC, installed the RD Conneciton Broker service perfectly and then promoted again.

    Would be nice down the track if a clearer notification came up... "Oi! This is a DC and not recommened"

    Still for us who only have one server and want to play with it all, I want to run it all on the one machine....

    Ok back to configuring, playing and learning powershell :-P

    Roland

    Tuesday, September 25, 2012 9:47 AM
  • "After toiling and trying everything under the Sun, I decided to re-install the servers exactly the same way I did earlier and included all components and applications before trying with RDS and it WORKED, this means that it will remain a mystery why it didn't work and it is little discomforting of all the features that have not yet been tested."

    I have the same problem and I don't understand your solution.

    How did you succeed? What are the components and applications?

    Thanks

    Wednesday, November 14, 2012 10:43 AM
  • Same deal overhere!
    Saturday, November 17, 2012 11:53 AM
  • Hi Max,

    apologies for restarting this thread after months - but was your server a DC when you installed the RD Connection Broker?

    Does anyone know whether this does / does not work on DC's or whether you have to install some components before promoting it?

    Spent hours trying to reinstall, restart server, do updates, reinstall, restart.......

    Thanks

    Tuesday, February 05, 2013 7:56 AM
  • I happen to have the exact same problem - endless reboots and retries until I found this thread hinting to the impossibility of having a AD DC and the RDS services run on the same machine.

    The question MS has to answer though is: Is it a) impossible or is it just b) buggy.

    We have an all-Linux/Mac environment and want just one VM running all the Windows-stuff including RDS. having a second server just for AD is - apart from the license cost - utterly unnecessary. It just makes no sense - we do not need an AD DC except for RDS which wants one but just that does not work - it is a sad joke...

    I also suspected the reason for the trouble in the internal database issue but I got past this by just installing in separately before the other RDS services. Still i Ran into the Connection-Broker installation problem.

    Is there no way to get some more detailed info about what causes the installation to fail? Maybe one could fix that manually.



    • Proposed as answer by K2AAB Monday, February 18, 2013 1:33 PM
    • Unproposed as answer by K2AAB Monday, February 18, 2013 1:33 PM
    Saturday, February 09, 2013 11:23 PM
  • I've had the very same problem, this is what I have found.

    As part of the broker connection broker feature install the “Windows Internal DB” is installed along with it’s service. However the Service will not start due to login failure.

    I’ve worked around this by:

    1. From another 2012 host run up server manager and add in the relevant servers, (this is because the connection broker I am configuring is on one of the hyper-v hosts that will be rebooted and I want to keep an eye on the install)
    2. Start the RDP install wizard from Add Roles and Features.
    3. Add in all the relevant servers.
    4. Deploy the install.
    5. When the “RD Connection Broker role service” progress bar stalls go to the Services on the connection broker.
    6. A new service will have been installed “Windows Internal DB”, you made need to refresh.
    7. Edit the Logon Properties for this service to be local.
    8. Start the service.
    9. Return to the wizard

    The progress bar in the wizard will then start moving ageing and the installation will complete.

    My next step is to add a second broker and use a SQL DB.

    I did have one issue in that the broker installed failed first time round as it could not create a firewall rule. Re ran the wizard with all the same config and it all completed without error.

    • Proposed as answer by Nashtastic Wednesday, July 17, 2013 12:23 PM
    Monday, February 18, 2013 1:34 PM
  • K2AAB you are a legend. this solution helped me out heaps... seems like I tried everything else on the internet..  thanks

    • Proposed as answer by Stephan Swart Saturday, July 27, 2013 5:10 AM
    Wednesday, July 17, 2013 12:24 PM
  • K2AAB 

    I am happy that it worked for you.

    I had a similar problem, the Connection Broker Service did not want to install with the wizard,  where the server kept on asking for a reboot, and even after several reboots, still have the same message.

    Persistence and same issue, then i decided to shut the server down and do a cold start-up. Whala, it loaded some updates a few times, rebooted about 3 to 4 times and it came up without that error of the reboot.

    Re installed the VDI and all worked fine

    Just had to add this for in case someone has the same issues


    Saturday, July 27, 2013 5:16 AM
  • I've had the very same problem, this is what I have found.

    As part of the broker connection broker feature install the “Windows Internal DB” is installed along with it’s service. However the Service will not start due to login failure.

    I’ve worked around this by:

    1. From another 2012 host run up server manager and add in the relevant servers, (this is because the connection broker I am configuring is on one of the hyper-v hosts that will be rebooted and I want to keep an eye on the install)
    2. Start the RDP install wizard from Add Roles and Features.
    3. Add in all the relevant servers.
    4. Deploy the install.
    5. When the “RD Connection Broker role service” progress bar stalls go to the Services on the connection broker.
    6. A new service will have been installed “Windows Internal DB”, you made need to refresh.
    7. Edit the Logon Properties for this service to be local.
    8. Start the service.
    9. Return to the wizard

    The progress bar in the wizard will then start moving ageing and the installation will complete.

    My next step is to add a second broker and use a SQL DB.

    I did have one issue in that the broker installed failed first time round as it could not create a firewall rule. Re ran the wizard with all the same config and it all completed without error.

    Many Thanks for the post, after multiple hours trying to get the Services installed your post solved the issue for me.
    This was true for Windows Server 2012 as well Windows Server 2012 R2.

    It would be nice if Microsoft Fixes this bug some day...

    Monday, September 30, 2013 12:37 AM
  • I had the same issue.  The Windows Internal Database service could not start.  It was throwing an authentication error.  I changed the local user to something with the appropriate permissions and was able to start the Database and then the connection broker.

    Friday, January 31, 2014 3:25 PM
  • Hi Berson,

    I have configured Connection Broker in HA mode.

    Broker configuration.

    ActiveManagementServer   : VCB01.SKY.LOCAL
    ConnectionBroker         : {VCB01.SKY.LOCAL, UCB01.SKY.LOCAL}
    ClientAccessName         : RDSCB.SKY.COM
    DatabaseConnectionString : DRIVER=SQL Server Native Client 10.0;SERVER=CSQLDB01;Trusted_Connection=Yes;APP=Remote Desktop Services Connection Broker;Database=RDSCBDB
    DatabaseFilePath         : F:\UserDB\\RDSCBDB.mdf


    Why "DatabaseFilePath         : F:\UserDB\\RDSCBDB.mdf"    a double \\ in this and is this showing fine in RDS.

    Below are the frequent Error which i m getting on connection broker and i want to verify that my connection broker redirection and configuration.

    ERROR ID


    Log Name:      Remote-Desktop-Management-Service-Admin
    Source:        Microsoft-Windows-Remote-Desktop-Management-Service
    Date:          2014-05-28 17:58:50
    Event ID:      2
    Task Category: None
    Level:         Error
    Keywords:      
    User:          NETWORK SERVICE
    Computer:      VCB01.Sky.local
    Description:
    Config sync failed. Following error occurred: 0x80070057



    Log Name:      Microsoft-Windows-TerminalServices-SessionBroker-Client/Operational
    Source:        Microsoft-Windows-TerminalServices-SessionBroker-Client
    Date:          2014-05-28 18:02:11
    Event ID:      1306
    Task Category: RD Connection Broker Client processes request from a user
    Level:         Error
    Keywords:      
    User:          NETWORK SERVICE
    Computer:      VCB01.SKY.LOCAL
    Description:
    Remote Desktop Connection Broker Client failed to redirect the user SKY\TEST1. 
    Error: NULL


    Wednesday, May 28, 2014 4:37 PM
  • When trying to add new roles to Server 2012 R2 (WSUS in my case), it reports that "Cannot get Role and Feature Data".

    You might want to consider using the original account "NT Service\MSSQL$MICROSOFT##WID", and giving it the Log On As A Service right. That solves the problem. The service "Windows Internal Database" appears during the Role and Feature wizard, and it logs on with that service account that in some environments has very limited user rights.



    Thursday, July 10, 2014 7:56 AM
  • Thanks for this. I have been trying for hours to install RDS on a windows 2012 R2 Datacenter server. You would think that microsoft would have fixed this problem by now.
    Thursday, August 07, 2014 10:08 AM
  • This helped me, thanks!
    Tuesday, September 02, 2014 5:24 AM