none
Domain controller needed?

Question

• I am researching a new server for a fire department that I am associated with.  I am not a network person, my degree is in software design.  I understand what a domain controller is, setting it up and managing it are a different story.  I have read a lot and understand that Server 2012 is very user friendly compared to previous versions.  My real question is whether I want to make the server that we purchase a domain controller or should I operate on a workgroup which they currently have half setup.  I have never had good luck with workgroups since it always ask for your password to access the file structure on the server regardless if your user name on the local machine matches the name on there server.  I dunno.  There are currently 6 computers that are hard wired to a 10/100 switch on a rack mount right now.  Other things (PS3, Video boxes, etc) use the same switch/router.  It has been made clear that it would be beneficial for the admin staff be able to login from any of the computers and have their files/desktop available so, this would be a domain controller with the workstations logging into the domain at startup, correct?  I'm just a little hesitant to jump into this since we are talking about $3000+ to initially invest and I don't want to be the idiot that recommended it.  :)  Another thing is that there are 3 laptops that would also login to the domain while on site but, what happens when they are not on the network?  I've heard that roaming profiles are not good but, is there a way that the laptop could logon through the internet?  Sorry for the amount of questions but, I am trying to get a grasp of what we need.

Thanks,

Jay

Saturday, February 02, 2013 7:37 PM

Answers

• Hi Jay,

I would recommend setting up the server as a domain controller since the environment will be much easier to manage if you have a domain set up.