none
Setting up externally facing websites

Question

• Hello, I need some assistance with setting up an externally facing website. I am primarily a hardware guy but was handed off this project. So to start, I have a 2003 box with my DNS and DHCP located on it. The box that I am trying to setup the externally facing websites is a 2008 R2 box. The 2008 R2 box has IIS 7 installed and ready to go. I am a noob as far as setting up the sites. I am familiar with IIS 5 and 6 but this is my first involvement with 7. Also I do have a static IP from my ISP.

What settings do I need to apply to the DNS and DHCP to get the 2008 R2 box externally facing. Then what settings do I need to apply to the individual websites to allow the external pipe to flow?

Thank you for your assistance,

Tucker<o:p></o:p>

Monday, March 05, 2012 7:35 PM

Answers

• Hi Tucker,

Firstly, I am going to assume that your Windows Server 2003 DNS box does not host the public DNS zone for the websites that you want to enable external access for (but please correct me if I am wrong).  If not then then DNS Settings and DHCP settings on the Server 2003 box should have no real relevance to the Server 2008 R2 box.  I would strongly advise setting the Server 2008 R2 box to use a static IP address.

Once you have a static IP address on your Server 2008 R2 box you can then allow the web traffic through your firewall \ router, either via a regular firewall rule if your server is in a DMZ or via NAT if required.  The rule you require should allow HTTP traffic on port 80 inbound, you will also need to ensure that you allow the traffic through the Windows Firewall on your Server 2008 R2 box.