none
Windows Server 2008 R2 and UAC and "you don't currently have permission to access this folder."

Question

• Running Windows 2008 R2 server.  I would like to continue leveraging the UAC feature.  I have these two UAC settings deployed via a GPO:

1.  User Account Control: Behavior of the elevation prompt or administrators in Admin Approval Mode = Prompt for consent on the secure desktop.

2.  User Account Control:  Run all administrators in Admin Approval Mode = Enalbed

With UAC enabled, when I click on certain folders on the c:\ drive (for example, PerfLogs) i get the message "you don't currently have permission to access this folder.  Click Continue to permanently get access to this folder."  When I click Continue it gives my account explicit permissions to that folder.  This is not the desired outcome.  I am a Domain Admin and a member of the Administrators local group.  The Administrators group has the permissions to the c:\perflogs folder.

I don't want to circumvent UAC behavior or set a less desirable settings to bypass UAC as some other solutions have provided.  I thought that this was improved in Windows Server 2008 R2 where we can maintain UAC but still get to these folders without having the explicit permissions set.

I also want to avoid having to change ownership.  Can this be accomplished in W2K8 R2?  If so, please be detailed in the solution.

thank you,

Raffi

Wednesday, September 22, 2010 4:10 PM

Answers

• There are several workarounds for this issue, but unfortunately none of them *really* solve the problem:

0) Allow Windows to add your permissions explicitly:  Goes without saying, but I am listing here for completeness.  You could create/find a script to clean up these explicit permissions...  Not pretty, but neither is the extra SACLs everywhere.