none
On Windows Server 2012 - Is it possible to install a "Quick Start" RDS installation on a workgroup?

Question

• I'm new to Server 2012 - have lots of experience with RDS on Server 2003 and Server 2008 / R2. 

In Server 2012 in the Server Manager, I'm attempting to add the Role for "Remote Desktop Services Installation" and when I click Next a message pops up that "The Local Server must be joined to the domain to complete the RDS installation option".  When I click the "Quick Start" option, the "Deploy" and "Next" buttons are disabled. 

I am not using a domain set up.  I'd like to use a simple Workgroup as I have done in the past with prior releases of Windows Server.  Is it possible to install a "Quick Start" RDS installation on a workgroup?  This customer has just purchased 1 server and they don't have any budget for a second Domain Controller server.  

Charles Frankel

Friday, February 01, 2013 5:26 PM

All replies

• Hi,

To fully utilize Server 2012 RDSH the server needs to be joined to a domain, and the RD Connection Broker must not be installed on a DC.  The domain controller needs to be a separate server instance.

What you can do is have a single physical server running Server 2012 Standard with Hyper-V Role Service installed and two VMs running Server 2012 Standard.  One VM can be the domain controller and one VM can be the RDS server running RDCB, RDSH, RDWeb, etc.  The VM running active directory does not need that much CPU/RAM/IO dedicated to it, unless it will do other things besides being a DC.

One Server 2012 Standard license will permit the above scenario.

-TP

Friday, February 01, 2013 5:56 PM
  • What about downgrading to Windows MultiPoint Server or Server 2008 R2?

Charles Frankel

Friday, February 01, 2013 6:10 PM
  • Hi,