none
Updates needed but no updates found on client

Question

• Hi All,

I am new to WSUS so this maybe a simple question. In my console one of my computers says this:

But when I check for updates on that computer it doesn't show any:

What is the reason for this? If I click the link to say "check online for updates plenty are found"

Thanks

Dave

Wednesday, March 20, 2013 11:23 PM

Answers

• Hi All,

I am new to WSUS so this maybe a simple question. In my console one of my computers says this:

A common challenge for new WSUS Admins... it has to do with understanding the difference between the meaning of what is displayed on the WSUS console (needed) and what is displayed in the WUApplet (available).

On the WSUS console, the update is displayed in one of three states: Not Applicable, Installed, or Needed. This state is evaluated the first time a client sees an update in the WSUS database and is evaluated for *every* update in the database.

On the WUApplet, the client displays updates that are AVAILABLE to be installed. For a WSUS client there are two subconditions for an update to be AVIALABLE. First, the update must be APPROVED for a group that the client is assigned to. Unapproved updates, even if Needed, will never appear in the WUApplet display. Second, the update must be DOWNLOADABLE from the WSUS server. Even if the update is approved on the WSUS server, if the file to install the update has not been downloaded to the WSUS server, then it is not available to the client for installation.

Lawrence Garvin, M.S., MCITP:EA, MCDBA, MCSA
    SolarWinds Head Geek
    Microsoft MVP - Software Distribution (2005-2013)
    My MVP Profile: http://mvp.support.microsoft.com/profile/Lawrence.Garvin
    The views expressed on this post are mine and do not necessarily reflect the views of SolarWinds.

• Marked as answer by Triumphtech Tuesday, April 02, 2013 11:59 AM
    Thursday, March 21, 2013 2:41 AM

All replies

• Hi All,