none
ipconfig \registerdns not working

Question

• Hello, 

We had our main server crash and had to remove it from active directory manually.  Our second server was the global catalog - that server is functioning fine.  I used the following directions to remove the failed server (basically just use ntdsutil and then delete failed dc from DNS /active directory) :

http://www.petri.co.il/delete_failed_dcs_from_ad.htm

I am running Windows Server 2008 R2 on the only remaining domain controller.  We are having some problems with the server registering the dns using ipconfig /registernds.  Additionally, when I run dcdiag, there are connectivity issues.  I am very new to all of this and could use some advice as to what the problem might be.

Here is the output from ipconfig /all

Windows IP Configuration

Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : lcg

Primary Dns Suffix  . . . . . . . : pcl.princeton.edu

Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid

IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

DNS Suffix Search List. . . . . . : pcl.princeton.edu

princeton.edu

Ethernet adapter PCL Intranet:

Connection-specific DNS Suffix  . : pcl.princeton.edu

Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Broadcom BCM5709C NetXtreme II GigE (NDIS VBD Client) #2

Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-B9-42-D3-77

DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No

Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.111.5(Preferred) 

Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0

Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.111.1

DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.111.5

NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

Here is the output from dcdiag \v indicating the error

Directory Server Diagnosis

Performing initial setup:

Trying to find home server...

* Verifying that the local machine lcg, is a Directory Server. 
       Home Server = lcg

* Connecting to directory service on server lcg.

* Identified AD Forest.