none
How do I edit new DC "Allow Log on Locally" policy setting without having to add all existing groups via gpmc.msc?

Question

• Hi,

I am currently self-studying for the 70-640, and have not sat MS exams before, although I have basic experience.  One of the practise tests in an early chapter asks me to log on to my newly created DC with a standard user account, and I get the message "You cannot log on because the logon method you are using is not allowed on this computer".  Little bit of googling, and I stumbled across http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itpronetworking/thread/0f750de8-d56e-4951-a2b1-839e55934745/, which advises looking at the group policy settings for "Allow Log On Locally" and "Deny Log On Locally".

I found with the above that standard users are not listed in "Allow Log On Locally", but I cannot edit via gpedit.msc as the 'Add User or Group' button under this setting is greyed out (I am currently logged in as domain admin).  Numerous searches have pointed me in the direction of gpmc.msc, many similar to the post on May 02, 2009 12:07AM @ http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/winservermanager/thread/059465f4-a35b-4172-820c-f0c1e0a44d08/.  When I follow this through for my domain, however, I browse all the way through to "Allow Log On Locally" and it is set as 'not defined'.  If I double-click and select 'Define these policy settings' it looks like I have to add all the required groups from scratch.

Is this meant to be by design?  Essentially, "Allow Log On Locally" is currently set to Account Operators, Administrators, Backup Operators, Print Operators, Server Operators - and all I want to do is add Domain Users to this list, without having to manually add what is already there.

Any comment on this is greatly appreciated :-)

Server is vanilla build win2k8 R2 Standard, all updates installed as of 03/01/12, and .net framework 4.0 installed.

cheers,

Tuesday, January 24, 2012 6:21 PM

Answers

• Hi Tony,