none
Secondary DNS server not authoritative for domain

Pregunta

• We changed our company name last year so instead of completely rebuilding my AD with the new name I added a second domain. The orginal domain is still our AD domain and now we have the second domain which allows us to login with user@newdomain.com instead of user@olddomain.com.

I've been using FreeBSD BIND as my secondary DNS for Windows 2003 and 2008 for years. Recently I was checking one of my Windows 2008 R2 DNS servers and noticed that my FreeBSD DNS server had a red X under Forward Lookup Zones - > Name Servers tab. The error is "The server with this IP address is not authoritative for the required zone." This error came up under the original domain. If I check the same settings under the new domain it looks fine.

I verified that I wasn't able to get updates from the FreeBSD machine by running dig olddomain.com axfr, which returned "transfer failed". If I run the same dig command for the new domain it works.

Both the old and new domain types in Windows 2008 R2 DNS are set to Active Directory-Integrated.

jueves, 29 de marzo de 2012 18:03

Respuestas

• Ace,

I got it working!

Not sure which step did it, but here's what I did:

1.) Deleted/Corrected some CNAME records for my secondary Windows 2003 DNS

2.) Before I was opening DNS MMC for Win2003 from Win2008R2 console. This time I made all changes to Win2003 DNS from that servers' MMC and did the same from Win2008R2. Not sure if opening Win2003 DNS from Win2008R2 corrupted anything in the past, but I won't do that again.

Now when I go into Win2008R2 DNS and resolve BIND nameserver I get a nice green check mark. Also, when I go into BIND and run dig for either advocacyinc.org or disabilityrightstx.org it pulls all of the records.

Thanks for all the suggestions.

• Marcado como respuesta Carltonw1 sábado, 31 de marzo de 2012 19:34
    sábado, 31 de marzo de 2012 19:34

Todas las respuestas

• Check this link if it helps