none
This computer has not reported status yet

Question

• The related threads are 2 years old. I am new to WSUS. I am trying to figure out why some computers are showing this message. How would I go about trouble shooting and fixing this. Thanks

mercredi 1 mai 2013 18:46

Réponses

• The related threads are 2 years old. I am new to WSUS. I am trying to figure out why some computers are showing this message. How would I go about trouble shooting and fixing this. Thanks

While there are several related threads here that may be somewhat aged, I can tell you that fundamentally  the reasons for computers not reporting have not changed.

The starting point for this issue is to always inspect the WindowsUpdate.log and see what is actually happening.

The most common causes are:

1. The client is not actually configured to be a WSUS client. Typically this occurs as a result of either the GPO not being linked to the correct OrgUnit(s), or the client not being a member of the correct OrgUnit(s).

2. The client cannot communicate with the WSUS server. This can happen because the URL in the GPO is incorrect, not resolvable, or not accessible. These specific possibilities will be revealed by the entries in the WindowsUpdate.log

3. There are multiple clients with identical SusClientIDs. In this case you see some (but not all) of the clients reporting, and if you pay special attention you'll notice that the quantity of clients reporting stays the same, but the names of those clients changes regularly. This issue is discussed, and resolution provided, in KB903262.

4. The client is registered (can communicate with WSUS), but isn't actually detecting/reporting. This is typically the scenario when you have computers listed in the console, but the Last Reported Date is empty, and you get the subject message. Typically this occurs in one of three scenarios: