none
Parsing question? Timeout issue? COMPLETE PS NOOB here....

Pertanyaan

• I'm flummoxed.

I can run these commands, and I get different results than when I pipe them all together.

get-service | export-clixml c:\temp\46lab1.xml | stop-service bits | get-service | export-clixml c:\temp\46lab11.xml | start-service bits

Yields one XML file (46lab1.xml @ 11KBytes) and one XML file (46lab11.xml @ 166 bytes).  Of course that's not what I would expect.

If I enter these commands manually, piping the commands:  get-service | export-clixml c:\temp\thatfile.xml it works as advertised, and I get good data.

Hope I'm not leaving anything out.  Is there a condition where it's not completing due to a timing issue?  I ran this in the ISE and saw no errors, and got the same results.  Is it a permissions issue?  I'm trying to wrap his head around this one and coming up with no answers.

Thanks for the help :)

03 Maret 2012 23:44

Jawaban

• I don't think the problem is that stop-process doesn't accept pipeline input, but that get-process does.

get-service | export-clixml c:\temp\46lab1.xml | stop-service bits | get-service | export-clixml c:\temp\46lab11.xml | start-service bits

You're piping the output of stop-service (which is nothing) to get-service, and get-service is finding all the services by that name (none).  You can't make much of an xml file out of that.

It broke at export-clixml.  You can't put that in middle of a pipeline because it doesn't output anything to the pipeline, and it doesn't have a -passthru switch to enable it.

[string](0..33|%{[char][int](46+("686552495351636652556262185355647068516270555358646562655775 0645570").substring(($_*2),2))})-replace " "

04 Maret 2012 2:35
  • If you must code it on one line, some of those | characters should be ; characters.

get-service | export-clixml c:\temp\46lab1.xml ; stop-service bits ; get-service | export-clixml
    c:\temp\46lab11.xml ; start-service bits

04 Maret 2012 3:41

Semua Balasan