none
Need help with DFS using 3 DC's, which DC manages root domain namespace?

Domanda

• Ok so i'm fairly new to this organization and i'm trying to implement DFS. Here is the current setup:

DC01 -> Main DC / DFS Namespace+Replication (Installed by default for SYSVOL/NETLOGON)

DC02 -> Secondary DC / NO DFS

DC03 - > DFS Namespace (Installed by me to create DEPTS\HOME\PUBLIC etc,.)

When I go to domain.local all I see is NETLOGON and SYSVOL, so how do I get the namespaces on DC03 to show up? I only see them when I navigate to to \\DC03, so is it using DC01 by default?

Thanks

venerdì 7 dicembre 2012 17:42

Risposte

Tutte le risposte

• Hi,

What's the DFS namespace? For example it should be \\domain.local\root (the root is a name when you creating a DFS namespace). So accessing that namespace will help you get the root you need.

When accessing \\domain.local you are actually accessing a server (DC01 in your case) which is configged in DNS.

For further information about this question, you could refer to the "Referral Process for Domain-based Namespaces" part in following article:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/cc782417(v=ws.10).aspx

TechNet Subscriber Support in forum |If you have any feedback on our support, please contact tnmff@microsoft.com.

lunedì 10 dicembre 2012 12:31
    Moderatore
  • Hello,

I don't think there is a root? There are no namespaces on DC01

on DC03 I created DEPTS, PUBLIC and HOME all as root namespaces

I'm only testing so I created one shared replicated folder called "Marketing" in DEPTS namespace but no point using it until it shows up properly

P.S - Also I see DFS Namespace/Replication running on DC01/DC02 but there is no GUI, isnt that installed automatically?
    • Modificato Guldaen lunedì 10 dicembre 2012 21:22
    lunedì 10 dicembre 2012 21:07