none
Win Server 2008 - no network connection until logged in

Întrebare

• I'm pretty new to Windows Server 2008 but I have a problem that's fustrating so I hope someone can help.

I have Windows Server 2008 box that when I reboot or shutdown/restart, I can't get to it unless I physcially go to the console and log in to it.  I can't ping it,  I can't RDP I can't use our remote access software LogMeIn.  Until I phsically login at the console the network connection isn't on.  Then, when I do login i see the little red x at the network connection icon for a minute or so, then it connects to the network.  None of our other servers do this.  What setting do I need to change or check to correct it so when it's rebooted that i can see it before we actually have to log in to the box.

Thanks!

23 aprilie 2012 12:36

Răspunsuri

Toate mesajele

• This is common if you are EAP authentication for network connections. Can you check if you are running any 802.1x protection on the network

Regards Herbert Zimbizi

23 aprilie 2012 12:53
  • No we aren't.  Thanks.
    24 aprilie 2012 20:19
  • Hi,

Do you have more than one NIC on this server? Please try to update the NIC firmware to the latest version. And boot the server to safe mode with network connection, to see if the issue still persists. If no luck, please try to reset TCP/IP.

How to reset Internet Protocol (TCP/IP)

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357

Best Regards,

Aiden

Aiden Cao

TechNet Community Support

25 aprilie 2012 02:23
  • Aiden is correct.

how old is your server ? Sometimes, old firmwares are responsible for the issues like this.

Also, Which AV client is installed on the server in question ? You might want to set AV service Startup type to 'Automatic (Delayed Start)' instead of 'Automatic' (which is by default) and see if that makes any difference in the situation.

A UNIVERSE without WINDOWS is CHAOS !

This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties or guarantees and confers no rights.