none
Clustering existing servers running dfs

Вопрос

• I'm looking at creating a first cluster and need some advice. Got 1 currently production server and one non production brought on line for this. Both are running Server 2008 R2 Enterprise.

The production server though is running DFS which we are using for file shares, roaming profiles, folder redirection etc. How will that need to be changed or be affected by creatig a cluster. I was hoping to get that done, then have this cluster running clustered DFS and also clustered DHCP. Not worried about DHCP though as it's up and running somewhere else.

• Изменено Carito 23 марта 2012 г. 20:25
    23 марта 2012 г. 20:16

Ответы

• Hi,
    I am not a storage professional. However, as far as I know, you can simply add a new computer to an existing DFS, configure replication for it. Then if one server target fails, the DFS will continue to work without interrupt. So, in a way, a DFS is a kind of cluster.
    By the way, if you want to build a DHCP Failover Cluster, you can check the following guide.
    DHCP Step-by-Step Guide: Demonstrate DHCP Failover – Clustering in a Test Lab
    http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ee405263%28v=ws.10%29.aspx

Vincent Hu

TechNet Community Support

• Помечено в качестве ответа Vincent HuModerator 9 апреля 2012 г. 15:39
    26 марта 2012 г. 6:57
    Модератор
  • Hiya,

Ok, basically what you want is to move your current DFS to a clustered file service. (Proberly to avoid having the file storage consuming 2x disk space.)
    First of all, you dont cluster DFS. The DFS is one way of providing high availability(and other functionality) to your fileservices. You choose either to cluster your service or create DFS. There are ofcourse pros and cons with both, you should consider your requirements and options.

If you choose clustering, the oversimpoified approach is: