none
setting up a network connection between windows 7 host and windows xp client using Virtual pc

Question

• Hi, I’m a beginner in networking, so I might not explain my situation very well..

I’m trying desperately to establish a network connection between a real computer and a virtual one.. (all on my laptop)
    and the main purpose of this network is to make two programs coded in Python talking to each other through the network

The virtual program that I’m using is (Virtual PC 2007)
    The (host) is running on Windows7 Home Premium
    The client (the virtual computer) is running on Windows XP SP3

After hundreds attempts to find tutorials explaining the setup of network connection between these computers, I found one article and the steps went ok, but the result wasn’t!!

This is the article:
    http://www.wikihow.com/Set-Up-a-Network-Between-Host-PC-and-Guest-PC-in-Virtual-PC-2007-Using-Loopback-Adapter

After I tried the ping command (this term was very new to me), I think it shows me that there was no successful connection between the computers because it says that the sent packets from the host to the client was Zero..

Ping for Client:

Ping for Host:

I’m not sure if I’ve applied the Step 3.2 in the article correctly because I didn’t know where to find the Settings and in which computer (host or client??) should I look for it!!

If you have another clear steps, please please guide me with..
    Or maybe you can tell me what was my mistake?

Thank you,

Monday, November 14, 2011 8:41 PM

Answers

• A quick look says routing.  Unless your using a 255.255.0.0 subnet mask (instead of the standard 255.255.255.0 for 192.168.x.x subnets) or have a router you're not going to be able to ping between a 192.168.1 and 192.168.0 subnet

Why do you need a loopback adapter? The only reason you'd need to do this is if your not connected to any networks.