none
View All Site Content Showing the wrong number of items RRS feed

• Question

• NOTE:  Similar post also had no answer: http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/sharepointecm/thread/f775ba0d-648f-4be3-9017-78539915b281/

I am the Site Collection Administrator/and also tried logging in using Farm Account.  I go into View All Site Content and I show 15 documents.  When you actually go to the All Items view (and I double-checked, no filtering), you only find 9 documents. 

Versioning is not turned on.  I am a developer, so I also used the Web Service to try to troubleshoot.  The Lists.asmx web service shows an Item Count of 15 using the GetList method.  However, using the GetListItems method, the item Count reports 9 items, which is what I see in my browser.

Is there an stsadm command that I can run that will "true up" this number being reported in View All Site Content?

Thanks in advance.

- Update - 
    MOSS 2007 v 3.0 server farm.

• Edited by Susanh Thursday, September 16, 2010 6:02 PM More Detail
    Thursday, September 16, 2010 6:01 PM

Answers

•  

This is a very common question.

Normally what happens here is that there are documents in the library that were uploaded for the first time and never checked in, so only the owner of the files can see them no matter the view or permissions you have.

You can access the Library settings and then click on "Manage checked out files" and you will probably see the remaining files of the total number of items that SharePoint is seeing.

Regards,

Antonio

Moderator Note: Never propose your own posts as answers. The "Propose as Answer" function is there so that people can propose the good answers of other people. Not for self-proposing.
    • Proposed as answer by Antonio Segovia Monday, April 25, 2011 4:29 PM
    • Unproposed as answer by Mike Walsh FIN Monday, April 25, 2011 4:32 PM
    • Edited by Mike Walsh FIN Monday, April 25, 2011 4:33 PM Moderator Note added about not proposing own posts