none
Error on script RRS feed

• Question

• Hello Experts!!!

I have created the below powershell script to fix the software updates unknown compliance machines, but it was throwing the below error.

I am new to powershell and i could not fix the error msg form the script.Please help to fix the error from the script.

$computer = $env:COMPUTERNAME
    $namespace = "ROOT\ccm\SoftwareUpdates\UpdatesStore"
    $classname = "CCM_UpdateStatus"
    [bool]$f= $false
    $uniqueidall = Get-WmiObject -Namespace $namespace -Query "select uniqueid  from CCM_updatestatus where title like '%2019-08%' and status = 'installed'"

foreach ( $uniqueid in $uniqueidall)
    {
    $statemsg = (Get-WmiObject -namespace "root\CCM\StateMsg" -query "select messagesent from CCM_StateMsg where TopicID = "$uniqueid"").
    if($statemsg -eq 'True')
    { 
    Get-WmiObject -namespace "root\CCM\StateMsg" -query "select * from CCM_StateMsg where TopicID = "$uniqueid"" | Set-WmiInstance -Arguments @{MessageSent = $f}

Write-output "Resent the Assignment Compliance to the MP for the client"
    }
    }

Error message getting when i run the script.

Get-WmiObject : A positional parameter cannot be found that accepts argument 'CCM_UpdateStatus.UniqueId="f29f309a-cb23-44f5-b3cb-22710a956c1f"'.

At line:9 char:14
    + ... statemsg = (Get-WmiObject -namespace "root\CCM\StateMsg" -query "sele ...
    +                 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : InvalidArgument: (:) [Get-WmiObject], ParameterBindingException
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : PositionalParameterNotFound,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetWmiObjectCommand

THANKS SURESH M

• Edited by Suresh Muniyan Thursday, September 12, 2019 2:02 PM Modifying content
    Thursday, September 12, 2019 1:54 PM

Answers

• This is PowerShell specific.

You need to either escape your double-quotes in line 9 or use single quotes. You also need to get rid of the trailing period: