none
Windows 2016 Hyper V Cluster Live Migration Fails with TPM enabled RRS feed

• Question

• I've configured a 3 node Hyper V Failover Cluster running Windows 2016.  When I enable the virtual TPM on a virtual machine I am no longer able to live migrate it between nodes. 

I'm assuming it has something to do with certificates?  I'm brand new to using TPM so not sure where to start.

I get the following error message:

Live migration of 'Virtual Machine Test1' failed.

Virtual machine migration operation for 'Test1' failed at migration destination 'CA-EDM-NODE03'. (Virtual machine ID D55D24E2-3FEA-4753-B8DE-1CB4A345BB84)

The version of the device 'Microsoft Virtual TPM Device' of the virtual machine 'Test1' is not compatible with device on physical computer 'CA-EDM-NODE03'. (Virtual machine ID D55D24E2-3FEA-4753-B8DE-1CB4A345BB84)

The key protector for the virtual machine 'Saved State' could not be unwrapped. HostGuardianService returned: Generic failure (0x80041001) Local certificates not found : signingCount = 0, encryptCount = 0. Details are included in the HostGuardianService-Client event log. (Virtual machine ID 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000)

Wednesday, April 26, 2017 3:07 PM

Answers

• Ok found my own answer.

Just need to export the 2 certs located in the Shielded VM Local Certificates from the Source Hyper V Node

-Shielded VM Encryption Certificate (Untrusted Gaurdian)

-Shielded VM Signing Certificate (UntrustedGaurdian)

Then import them to the other Hyper V Nodes on the cluster. 

• Marked as answer by WhoIsHomer Friday, April 28, 2017 2:18 PM
    Friday, April 28, 2017 2:18 PM

All replies

• Ok found my own answer.

Just need to export the 2 certs located in the Shielded VM Local Certificates from the Source Hyper V Node

-Shielded VM Encryption Certificate (Untrusted Gaurdian)

-Shielded VM Signing Certificate (UntrustedGaurdian)

Then import them to the other Hyper V Nodes on the cluster.