none
Operating System Scheduled Updates Deletes the Backup File On Completion RRS feed

  • Question

  • We have recently serviced all our operating system images in line with our monthly procedures. On testing them we have found that Edge is broken. We then went to revert the images back to the previous version to find that the .bak file was not present.

    Looking at the OfflineServicingMgr.log on the site server we can see the lines

    copying image file '\\…\install.wim' to '\\…\install.wim.bak' ... SMS_OFFLINE_SERVICING_MANAGER

    followed shortly by

    Deleted the backed up copy of image '\\…\install.wim.bak'.

    We now have no way of reverting our changes.

    Can anyone explain how I prevent this from happening again? Thanks


    Friday, November 15, 2019 11:07 AM

All replies

  • I would suggest making an actual backup of any wim image you use if you wish to preserve or archive it and save it somewhere. Then when you do the offline servicing you can then test it on some test machines to validate that the new wim image and deployed updates work.

    If you perhaps have a VM or reference machine that has the older version of this image before the new updates were applied, sysprep it and capture it to the network if you need to get it back.

    But will be best to take a backup of your WIM image first beforehand.


    Website: www.walshamsolutions.com Technical Blog: https://www.walshamsolutions.com/technical-blog Personal Blog: https://www.walshamsolutions.com/personal-blog Twitter: Dwalshampro

    Friday, November 15, 2019 3:13 PM
  • Not really the answer I was looking for. I know I can make a copy of the files before hand and will be doing so for the foreseeable future; But this is not what Microsoft claim occurs if you read their documentation on servicing an image file in SCCM. They claim that a bak file is created (which it is) so you don't have to do this manually. This was working at some point as I can see bak files next to our decommissioned wim files.

    What I wanted to know was. Is there anyway, that the deletion that is occurring, can be prevented. Thus making this whole process automated again.


    • Edited by GreenTechy Friday, November 22, 2019 3:01 PM
    Friday, November 22, 2019 3:00 PM
  • Ultimately, this sounds like a bug so you need to open a case with Microsoft to bring it to their attention.

    Jason | https://home.configmgrftw.com | @jasonsandys

    Friday, November 22, 2019 4:55 PM