none
Abandoning Self-Signed SSL Certificates? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I'm working on remediation of some security flaws and have encountered a finding that calls out each of my domain-added workstations as having self signed SSL certificates.  I'm not an expert on the subject, but I do know the following things:

1)  An earlier finding lead to me disabling all forms of SSL on my servers and workstations

2)  Workstations use certificates to identify themselves to other domain assets.

Now my servers all have their own certs signed by an outside authority.  However, it would be a huge amount of work to go through the process for each and every workstation.  So my questions are these:

1)  Can I create a NON-SSL self signed cert for these machines to use?

2)  How do I remove these current SSL certs without having to hover over each workstation?

Basically, what's the least effort to remove self-signed SSL certs and replace them with something more secure?

Thanks,

M.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 4:09 PM

Answers

• Ah yes! We're dealing with the same "headaches" in our industry as well. I suspected that's what you meant, but I wanted to be clear.

The internal CA route is your best bet. Certificate Services is not as daunting as you might think, and there's PLENTY of support for it out in the wild. A very basic, out of the box install of AD CS will get you up and running. Then you'll just have to configure group policy to disseminate your root certificate and configure auto-enrollment for all of your computers to retrieve customer certificates from the domain CA.

Do not fear the CA. It's one area of IT that's growing quickly and you might find, like I did, that you enjoy it.

Wednesday, March 4, 2015 4:32 PM

All replies