Confusion about implementing Versions on MDS... RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,
    New to MS Master Data Services, starting to set up  a system, and I'm  a little confused regarding its Versioning feature.
    Our process is based on nightly ETL, so, every morning a new set of data arrives and there may or may not be new Master Data members.
    Should we be creating a new version for everyday's data processing, or should we not process Master Data on a daily basis but rather weekly, or on a longer period, and create version based on those imports instead? I don't believe our master data records change that often.
    However, if it ends up that we necessarily have to process MD nightly regardless (for whatever reasons,) is there a way to control Versions so that we're not creating a new version every day?
    Sorry if the question is unclear, I'm just beginning to understand MDS :)
    Thanks!

-Björn Türoque
    Friday, January 20, 2012 3:26 PM

Answers

• Hi Björn

My apologies for the confusion. Calling the staging stored procedures and putting data into the staging tables (basically anything under the stg schema) is FULLY supported. I got the impression you were asking about doing a version copy using a SPROC. While that is possible, it is not supported. The steps in your versioning scenario are correct.

Regards

Arun

Arunjeet Singh (Microsoft SQL Server Master Data Services)
    Friday, January 27, 2012 8:19 PM

All replies

• Hi Björn

Welcome to the world of MDS! I'd like to highlight two things here:

1. Creating a new version for a model causes a whole new copy of ALL the data in the model to be created.

2. If you turn transaction logging on while staging, every change to the entity will be logged as a transaction. Transaction logging is on by default when you use Excel or the web UI to add/edit members.