none
The specified invariant name 'System.Data.SqlClient' wasn't found in the list of registered .NET Data Providers. RRS feed

• Question

• Up until now, all my projects are 4.6.1 (.NET Framework, and not .NET Core).

I have several data access layers, in this case I'm using EF 6 to connect to a SQL Azure database.  This is the connectionstring:

metadata=res://Email/DAL.DataAccess.MasterEmail.MasterEmail.csdl|res://Email/DAL.DataAccess.MasterEmail.MasterEmail.ssdl|res://Email/DAL.DataAccess.MasterEmail.MasterEmail.msl;provider=System.Data.SqlClient;provider connection string='Server=tcp:sqlqa.database.windows.net,1433;Initial Catalog=<MyDatabaseName>;Persist Security Info=False;User ID=<myUserIdPlainText>;Password=<MyPasswordPlainText>;MultipleActiveResultSets=False;Encrypt=True;TrustServerCertificate=False;Connection Timeout=30;'

I'm new to Azure functions, but I added one, which is Azure Functions v1 (.NET Core), not v2.

Locally, the Azure function reads this connection string from local.settings.json, and runs to completion.

I set up a Build and Release for this Azure Function on Azure DevOps, and followed instructions I found online where it instructed me to copy my config settings over to Application Settings.  In this case, the connection string is an app setting, rather than a connection string.  It's just that way. I can see that the Azure Function reads this connection string, but when it goes to read from the database:

return unitOfWork.MasterEmailContext.SenderServices
                    .Include("SenderService_Company")
                    .Where(i => i.is_active && (i.avail_to_all || i.SenderService_Company.Any(j => j.company_id == companyId)))
                    .OrderBy(i => i.priority)
                    .ToList()
                    .Select(i => FromEntity(i))
                    .ToList();

It generates this exception: