none
Could someone work on a document despite have checked it out ?

    Frage

  • This was the question from a user after the incident described below

    User checks out a document 

    User loses connection to the server

    User works offline and saves some changes

    Next day user is back in the Office and has connection and tries to Check In but gets this:

    Why is this happening?

    I thought the Upload Centre was there specifically to handle network connection issues but it seems SharePoint is identifying differences in the file stored on the server and the file stored in the local cache (in the Upload Centre) and prompting the User to Resolve these 

    From the message she is getting no wonder she is asking - Could someone work on a document despite have checked it out ?

    Cheers

    jonj

    Donnerstag, 12. Juli 2018 09:03

Antworten

  • Hi jonjames,

    If a user have Override Check-out base permission, he/she could discard or check in a document which is checked out to another user via "Check In" button under FILES, then he/she could edit the document.

    Thanks,

    Wendy


    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they helped. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.


    Click here to learn more. Visit the dedicated forum to share, explore and talk to experts about Microsoft Teams.

    • Als Antwort markiert jonjames Mittwoch, 18. Juli 2018 09:23
    Mittwoch, 18. Juli 2018 03:07
    Moderator

Alle Antworten

  • Hi jonj,

    If another user makes changes to a server document while you are working on it, you may receive the failure notice when you try to upload your file.

    If a user has Override Check-out base permission, he/she could discard or check in a document which is checked out to another user.

    More information about permission levels, you can refer to:

    https://support.office.com/en-us/article/understanding-permission-levels-in-sharepoint-87ecbb0e-6550-491a-8826-c075e4859848?ui=en-US&rs=en-US&ad=US

    Thanks,

    Wendy


    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they helped. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.


    Click here to learn more. Visit the dedicated forum to share, explore and talk to experts about Microsoft Teams.

    Freitag, 13. Juli 2018 06:50
    Moderator
  • "If another user makes changes to a server document while you are working on it, you may receive the failure notice when you try to upload your file."

    How can another user make changes to a document when you have the document checked out?

    Montag, 16. Juli 2018 10:38
  • Hi jonjames,

    If a user have Override Check-out base permission, he/she could discard or check in a document which is checked out to another user via "Check In" button under FILES, then he/she could edit the document.

    Thanks,

    Wendy


    Please remember to mark the replies as answers if they helped. If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com.


    Click here to learn more. Visit the dedicated forum to share, explore and talk to experts about Microsoft Teams.

    • Als Antwort markiert jonjames Mittwoch, 18. Juli 2018 09:23
    Mittwoch, 18. Juli 2018 03:07
    Moderator