none
Actual Finish/Start do not update when 100% complete for "Schedule from Project Finish Date" Project

Frage

• Hi all,

I have created a schedule that is using "Schedule from Project Finish Date" but when I 100% a <g class="gr_ gr_135 gr-alert gr_gramm gr_hide gr_inline_cards gr_run_anim Grammar" data-gr-id="135" id="135">task</g> the actual finish date changes to the project finish date.  This is not the behaviour I expected (though I have never done a schedule this way before so maybe missing something). 

For example, the project finish date is the 13th of October 2018.  I just 100% task 14 today the 28th of June but the start and finish didn't change and the actual finish defaulted to 13/10 (Before/After):

Before: 

After:

Thanks in advance.

Mittwoch, 27. Juni 2018 20:48

Antworten

• solomani,

I don't see how it's any better to re-configure a plan for reuse simply by using the schedule from finish option but if that works better for you then go for it.

If the task finishes before the scheduled finish date, then you need to enter the actual finish date. When a task is marked as 100% complete, Project has now way of "knowing" when the task actually finished so for lack of better information Project will always assume the task finished on schedule, even if the scheduled finish date is in the future.

That's why it is better to enter an actual finish date, if different from the scheduled finish date. When you do that Project will automatically mark the task as 100% complete. With an actual finish date there is no ambiguity about when the task finished and by definition, a finished task is 100% complete.

Hope this helps.

John

Donnerstag, 28. Juni 2018 02:28
  • solomani,

I thought I explained all this before. If you enter 100% into the % Complete field, Project will automatically enter the scheduled finish date into the Actual Finish field. That's how it works, that's how it's always worked.

John