none
Date to text conversion on custom list

Question

• Hello,

I created a simple list to fill with vacation requests. I have 3 simple columns: one is to write the type of vacation and 2 that I use for start and end date.

Now, I'm trying to create a workflow with Microsoft Flow and when I fill a new item in the list the flow starts and send an email to the manager: the flow service, at this time, has only US locale formatting for date and time so my mail is not, say, well formed (I am in Italy).

A little workaround that I can use is to pass to flow service the date and hour converted as string, so I thought to create 2 hidden columns that I can fill with date and hour converted to string.

I'm quite new to Sharepoint so I ask for help: I have seen that I can create a calculated column and found a formula to do this conversion, but when I apply the formula I obtain the an error.

Say that the field is DateFrom, so I found the formula =(TEXT[DateFrom], "dd mm yyyy") but I have an error when I try to create the calculated column with this: could someone help me to understand why I have an error?

Hope someone can help me.

--

Regards

Marco Mangiante

Friday, October 7, 2016 6:44 PM

Answers

• Hello,

I resolved: to have a working formula, between the field and the formatting string you have to enter a semicolon and not a comma; so, for example, the working formula for me is:

=TEXT([DateFrom];"dd mm yyyy")

I think this is related to language and regional settings, so I suppose that if I change my locale settings I can use the "comma" version of the previous formula.

However, I even found a simple workaround with the use of DAY, MONTH and YEAR functions; for example with this:

=DAY([DateFrom])&"/"&MONTH([DateFrom])&"/"&YEAR([DateFrom])

Hope this can help other people.

--

Regards,

Marco Mangiante

Saturday, October 8, 2016 5:15 PM

All replies

• Marco Mangiante

Friday, October 7, 2016 6:53 PM
  • Hello,