none
Noob with Resource Allocation Issues RRS feed

• Question

• Hi - I'm new to MS Project, and might be approaching my problem completely wrongly - any advice would be welcome...

I have a single resource (me) to work on a bunch of project tasks.  One day a week, I can dedicate myself to my project work, but the other 4 days are split between project and support.  So I started by creating 2 new calendars, one that just has my project days, and one that has my split days.  I then created two resources, one attached to the project calendar with 100% max capacity, and the other attached to the split days calendar with 50% max capacity.

I created a couple of tasks that were 4d duration (and 32h work), and assigned my 50% self to them.  

What I got was just totally confusing - perhaps because my expectations are misguided?  It seemed to want to double book me and still use 100% of my time, and it therefore complained of over-allocation of the resource.  No amount of playing with levelling helped, and the only way to fix it was by manually creating task dependencies, which is not really a path I want to embark on to resolve resource issues.

The Task Inspector gives an option to reschedule a task to the resource's next available time, which seemed like a sensible choice, but clicking this option didn't seem to do anything except bring up the resource over-allocated warning again, and make no difference to anything else at all.

Am I being unrealistic in expecting Project to be able to read my calendar availability and schedule workload accordingly, or am I just doing it wrong?

Thanks in anticipation

Graham

Wednesday, April 2, 2014 4:10 AM

All replies

• Your explanation is fairly clear but even so it is hard to pin down the exact problem and solution without seeing the file and the details.

However, what I think you are describing is definitely possible in MSP.