none
Security Assessment Report RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all, im a very new beginner to this MAP. Hence would like to seek help in this area(:

Im currently doing a research on this software, and i have chosen the Security Assessment Wizard. Half way through the wizard i've gt some questions:

Select Methods To Identify Computers.

For this i have selected- Use the windows networking protocols
                                           Import computer names from a file
                                           Scan an IP address range
                                           Manually enter computer names and credentials 

Would like to know, the Scan an IP address range, what does it means? And how do i find the IP range of addresses? I tried input the range but however, it showed this error message:"The format of the IP address entered does not conform to the IPv4 standard".

Is the IP addresses same as the range of what i've imported of those computer names?

Hoped to receive a response, thanks!

Monday, June 8, 2009 6:12 AM

All replies

• You don't have to select more than one discovery method unless you need to.  If all the machines that you want to inventory are in the file that you imported, you can simply select "import computer names from a file" and deselct all the other options.

If you want to use IP address range scan, then you'll need to provide ranges used on your LAN, for example 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.255

Monday, June 8, 2009 5:09 PM
  • You don't have to select more than one discovery method unless you need to.  If all the machines that you want to inventory are in the file that you imported, you can simply select "import computer names from a file" and deselct all the other options.

If you want to use IP address range scan, then you'll need to provide ranges used on your LAN, for example 192.168.1.1 to 192.168.1.255

Thanks for your reply!

Another qns: