GPO - Startup Script - UAC Problems RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

Apologies if this has been asked a thousand times before but I've done a lot of Googling and can't quite get an answer to this.....

I'm not too good with scripting, though I can usually find and butcher what I need for general administration tasks.

On this occasion I am trying to deploy a peice of client software for an already installed server application. I want to do this automatically using a startup script via a GPO.

The script basically copies the software from the NETLOGON directory to a locally created directory, then launches the setup with a couple of applicaiton specific switches.

What I am finding is that on XP clients all works as expected, however on Windows 7 machines the software has tried to be installed but not completed. I know this as the local clients directory structure has started to be created, ie I see;

c:\program files\client app\folder 1

c:\program files\client app\folder 2

c:\program files\client app\folder 3

but not

c:\program files\client app\folder 4

c:\program files\client app\folder 5

As such I'm guessing the installation is getting as far as it can before UAC kicks in then prevents it completing successfully.

Can anyone enlighten me as to how I can deal with this situation? I know UAC is there for a reason and this would seem to go against its purpose but I can't believe there is not a way to deploy software via a startup script due to UAC.

Thanks in advance!

Adam

Monday, January 30, 2012 11:04 AM

Answers

• Startup scripts run with local system privileges, as demonstrated by the fact that your script works on XP. A startup script can install software, and even add members to the local Administrators group, so it runs will local administrator privileges. I also doubt that UAC is kicking in after a delay.