need a powershell command to imput the email address then output the username of the user? then print this list. RRS feed

• Question

• My apologies but I have limited experience with writing scripts in powershell.

need a powershell command to imput the email address then output the username of the user? then print this list.

Also need to print out of this list.

Thank You.

dsk

• Edited by kimdav111 Tuesday, September 6, 2016 3:03 PM correction
    Tuesday, September 6, 2016 2:47 PM

Answers

• I want to imput the email address which is unique

dsk

You need to get the email addresses in a csv/txt file; e.g file.txt with the email column header called email

//Import the email address

$emails = (Import-Csv .\file.txt ).email

Get details for each user.

foreach($mail in $emails) {Get-ADUser -Properties mail -filter {mail -eq $mail} | | select name,mail, samaccountname >> Output.csv}

foreach($mail in $emails) {Get-ADUser -Properties mail -filter {mail -eq $mail} | select name,mail, samaccountname >> Output.csv}

***PLEASE NOTE Output will need to be formatted in say excel to remove blank spaces and repeated headers

• Proposed as answer by jrv Saturday, September 10, 2016 3:59 AM
    • Marked as answer by Richard MuellerMVP Friday, September 16, 2016 4:00 PM
    Saturday, September 10, 2016 3:50 AM

All replies

• Hi,

You can use Get-ADUser and Export-Csv cmdlets like below:

Get-ADUser -Filter * -SearchBase "ou=Ou,dc=contoso,dc=com" -Properties * | Export-Csv  "c:\somefile.csv"

Tuesday, September 6, 2016 2:56 PM
  • The question is, are first names (givenName) and last names (sn) in your domain unique?

If they are not (and the probability of this is likely proportional to the number of user accounts in your domain), then how will you determine which user names correspond with which accounts?

-- Bill Stewart [Bill_Stewart]

Tuesday, September 6, 2016 3:03 PM