none
Help starting and stopping services from batch file RRS feed

• Question

• Ok, this could be a long post as I am a scripting newb and want to make sure my question is clear.

I am running windows 10. My goal is to make a user that launches into a batch file as a replacement shell. This much I have accomplished. The batch file is designed to change the power plan (accomplished) stop any unwanted processes and services (the part I am having trouble with), launch a program (Ableton Live) and wait for that program to close (accomplished) start whatever was stopped (I assume not working but not sure because services never stopped) and log out (accomplished)

To stop services I have tried net stop, and sc stop. I have tried running a shortcut to the batch file with run as administrator ticked in the properties. I have tried using runas /user:administrator /env [path\filename.bat]. I keep getting the same error messages no matter what I do;

with sc stop:

[SC] OpenService FAILED 5:

Access is denied.

with net stop:

System error 5 has occurred.

Access is denied.

Anyone have an Idea how I can gain administrator permission to exocute this scrip in an automated way so that I can set the batch file as the windows shell and have it run on user login without opening explorer.exe?

Thursday, November 24, 2016 4:08 AM

Answers

All replies

• update:

I have read  /faq-why-cant-i-bypass-the-uac-prompt/  from this forum and am now assuming this is probably related to that. I am wondering if there is any "extreme" workaround I can use, as the computer is never connected to any network and is used solely as a music production platform.

Thanks in advance if anyone can help me with this. I have been googling every solution I can imagine without any success.

Thursday, November 24, 2016 4:25 AM
  • Post end user questions here: http://anwers.microsoft.com

\_(ツ)_/

Thursday, November 24, 2016 4:39 AM