none
Symantec Endpoint Protection failing to install via MDT, installs manually RRS feed

• Question

• I'm trying to install Symantec Endpoint Protection Agent 12.1.6 MP7 on Windows 10 Pro.

While installing through MDT, Windows 10 pops up and says "Symantec Endpoint Protection doesn't work on this version of Windows.  I have verified that this version of Symantec is compatible with Windows 10.

Also, if I install the software manually using the same commands it works fine.

I'm not sure where to begin troubleshooting this, is it a known issue?

Monday, March 6, 2017 8:33 PM

All replies

• Take a look at the MSI log for the application install.

Many questions such as where do I find logs and what logs are interesting are found in: MDT TechNet Forum - FAQ & Getting Started Guide Please take the time to read it. Also if you don't post logs your problem won't be easily solved.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 2:40 AM
  • I have been installing symantec via MDT for the past 7 years... Are you using the single file exe or extracting the files? What is your command line? Seems like a packaging issue versus MDT issue!
    Tuesday, March 7, 2017 12:32 PM
  • The single file exe which was generated from the Symantec server.

Not sure what kind of packaging issue it could be if it installs manually, or what I should do to fix it.

Tuesday, March 7, 2017 2:24 PM
  • What is the command line you use? Also what order does this install-meaning is it first or last or in between installs of another application? Remember windows can only install one MSI action at a time and it must wait for one to finish before executing another one.. I have had issues with this many times before...
    Tuesday, March 7, 2017 2:32 PM
  • Simply "setup.exe /s"

I've tried moving it to first, last, and in between but it doesn't help.  Also, the error message is from Windows 10 saying it won't install due to a compatibility issue so I don't think it's an issue with the task sequence.