DNS: Zone <ZoneName> secondary servers must respond to queries for the zone. RRS feed

• Question

• Hello everyone,

I'm a newbie in this forum and in the server field.

So today the problem I'd like to discuss is DNS role on the server.

Well, I followed and did the Best Practices Analyzer (BPA) instruction (the link below) for resolving the problem that related to the subject. Here is the link included in the BPA log: 

http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=188791

But the problem could not be resolved. 

My server version is 2008 R2 Standard SP1

Any help is highly appreciated

Thank you for your consideration

Hien Nguyen

Tuesday, July 10, 2018 12:46 AM

Answers

• Hi,

Thanks for your question.

Could you describe your experimental environment? How do you configure the secondary DNS server?

• Did you set the properties of the zone transfer on the primary server?

•  confirm that Secondary is able to communicate with Primary.Check the connection to the primary domain when you create the secondary domain.

Refer to the following links:

http://www.itingredients.com/how-to-configure-secondary-dns-server-2012-r2/

Please Note: Since the web site is not hosted by Microsoft, the link may change without notice. Microsoft does not guarantee the accuracy of this information. 

Best regards,

Travis

Please remember to mark the replies as an answers if they help.
    If you have feedback for TechNet Subscriber Support, contact tnmff@microsoft.com

Tuesday, July 10, 2018 5:41 AM

All replies

• Hi,

Thanks for your question.

Could you describe your experimental environment? How do you configure the secondary DNS server?

• Did you set the properties of the zone transfer on the primary server?

•  confirm that Secondary is able to communicate with Primary.Check the connection to the primary domain when you create the secondary domain.

Refer to the following links:

http://www.itingredients.com/how-to-configure-secondary-dns-server-2012-r2/