none
Perfmon Process: % Processor Time vs. Task Manager’s CPU usage (for monitoring a specific user)

Question

• I'm new to using Perfmon and performance monitoring in general (so go easy on me please ;)

I know that Perfmon doesn't have anything exactly like Task Manager's CPU usage display, but I'm trying to figure out how to monitor a user's web site CPU usage (worker process user) via Perfmon in a similar way, and trying to understand the measurements (or how to convert the numbers to get a similar understanding)

For example, if in Task Manager, a particular user is consistently using more than 5-10% CPU, I would want to contact the user about it.

I learn best by example, so here is exactly what I'm trying to do, with a specific example:

This is on a 32-bit Dual Quad Core Windows 2003 web server (8 CPUs), there are many web sites on the server, each running within their own application pool/worker process ID.

Through some research I learned of a registry change (which I made) so that the PID shows up with the w3wp process so I can easily identify the site later by cross-referencing it.

I set up a counter with the following settings:

Process

->

%

Processor

Time

->
     all instances

Here is an example. Let's say I'm interested in the "black line " user process in this graph below, as his process is spiking quite high compared to all the other users:

http://i35.tinypic.com/106yn8k.jpg

Using this as an example, I see that this worker process user has an AVERAGE % PROCESSOR TIME of 23.264 , and has spiked as high as 103.124

So - what exactly does this 23.264 number mean to me?  Since this server has 8 CPUs, should I divide this number by 8?    (23.264/8 = 2.9% AVERAGE CPU LOAD?)