none
Application needs to reboot the machine before task sequence is completed - how to handle? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello all,

I'm new to using MDT with Windows XP, but I am working on a project to repurpose some old machines for use as kiosks. I will be using Windows XP with SteadyState and Windows Disk Protection as a means to help keep them from being abused.

In my task sequence, I currently am able to install Steady State silently as well as import a user with the locked down settings. The last thing I am trying to do is enable Windows Disk Protection. I can do this with a Command Line task that calls SCTUI.exe /EnableWDPAndReboot. I have this has the last step in the State Restore phase right now.

Obviously doing this causes the PC to reboot. After it does this I get a message that there is an existing task sequence still running, would I like to continue or start a new one.

So, the question is, how should I handle running a command in a task sequence that requires the computer to reboot?

Thank you for any help!

Thursday, August 29, 2013 4:01 PM

Answers

All replies

• Does the Window Disk Protection installer require a reboot at that moment? Is there a way to delay the reboot? If so, you can use a finish action in your TS to always reboot at the end of a TS. Additionally, you could simply have the TS initiate the reboot instead of the application. 

-Nick O.

Thursday, August 29, 2013 5:55 PM
  • Does the Window Disk Protection installer require a reboot at that moment? Is there a way to delay the reboot? If so, you can use a finish action in your TS to always reboot at the end of a TS. Additionally, you could simply have the TS initiate the reboot instead of the application. 

-Nick O.

Unfortunately it seems there is no way to delay the reboot. The switch used to activate WDP is /EnableWDPAndReboot so that is no surprise. I can't seem to find any other way to suppress it unless someone knows more about WDP and is willing to share.