none
Challenge: Transforming Data with M-Language - messy data scraped from the web RRS feed

• Question

• I am new to M-Language, and I am playing around with it to see how far I can get.

I pulled data from the web: https://www.t-systems.com/de/en/locations for the purpose of creating a clean directory of company locations.

After several failed attempts to get data loaded directly from the web into Excel / Power BI, I tried several web scrapers, of which only one worked halfways well.

Finally, I got an Excel file that looks like this:

I am trying to wrap my head around this data, and I was wondering if it's even possible to clean that data up with help of M?

It's barely digestable for a human ...

Obviously, it would take me less time to just manually copy and paste the data into a text file, clean it up manually and then load it into Excel. But I was wondering how a data pro would handle such a scenario, given the data set wouldn't be just a couple dozen addresses but a huge volume, impossible to get cleaned up manually.

Please bear in mind that the example above is totally arbitrary, based on publically availeable data, for educational purposes only.

I am using it to demostrate a realistic scenario.

Thanks for your feedback!

Rafael Knuth

Tuesday, February 13, 2018 2:15 PM

Answers

• Excel 2016 Pro Plus with Power Query (aka Get & Transform)
    http://www.mediafire.com/file/lzgxk3387a42ttg/02_13_18.xlsx

Wednesday, February 14, 2018 1:44 AM
  • the truth is that this relies more on you knowing HTML than Power Query, so it might not be a good example unless you're into working with HTML documents.