none
PowerBI - Help with a nested join RRS feed

• Question

• Hello:

I am relatively new to PowerBI and am trying to optimize my queries. Can you please advise on one or both questions below?

1. I have two external data sources, both SQL Server. I created two queries - one gets all students with a lastname starting with a letter and the second gets all students living in a certain state. I want to join the results of both queries which are pulling from the same table. The result of my query is as below:

let
        Source = Sql.Database("server", "database", [Query="select * from students where state = 'ca'"]),
        Merge = Table.NestedJoin(Source,{"LastName"},NameQuery,{"LastName"},"NewColumn",JoinKind.Inner)
    in
        Merge

The net result of this according to SQL profiler is that it pulls all 20,000 records for the name query and all 50,000 records for the state query and then appears to merge them in PowerQuery. I was expecting that the merge / join would pass this query down to the database and do the join there instead. Perhaps I missed a step in setting up the Query.

2. Assuming #1 is possible, what if I wanted to achieve the same behavior with OData? Although I am very familiar with the OData filter syntax, how setting up the relationship in PowerQuery and pre-generating the query seems like it would not be possible but that's why I am looking for answers!

Thanks.

Thursday, February 12, 2015 10:59 PM

Answers

• You can do a self join in a single query ...

let
        Source = Sql.Database("server", "database"),
        dbo_Enrollments  = Source{[Schema="dbo",Item="Enrollments"]}[Data],
        dbo_Enrollments2 = Source{[Schema="dbo",Item="Enrollments"]}[Data],

#"Filtered Rows" = Table.SelectRows(dbo_Enrollments, each ([campusname] = "Campus A"))

Merge = Table.NestedJoin(#"Filtered Rows",{"rowid"},dbo_Enrollments2,{"rowid"},"NewColumn",JoinKind.Inner)
    in
        Merge

Tuesday, February 17, 2015 2:47 PM