none
Power Query Active Directory Groups - Group Size Issue? RRS feed

• Question

• Hello -

I'm trying to create a report in MS Excel that I can just refresh and have it show me a list of what users belong to a specific subset of AD groups.  I want to be able to give this spreadsheet to a key user so that they can have an active, refreshable list of who is assigned to this specific subset of Groups.  I have very little experience with AD, so this may be a rookie question!

I have connected MS Power Query to Active Directory, and am able to use that to filter the Groups table down to the Members and their user data.

The issue I have is that there are two groups (my largest two) which populate as if they have no members.  These groups do definitely have members and we can pull reports from other AD tools we have, so I'm confused why Power Query can't seem to pull the member info.  Is there a group size limit or something to which AD just reports null members, or is the data stored in a different way once a group hits a certain size?  Is there a standard user-oriented tool that I can use other than Power Query, if that's not going to work?

Tuesday, November 25, 2014 1:46 PM

Answers

• Hi,

It may be that your account is not allowed to list members in those particular groups, if there is such a thing in AD. Are the other reporting tools running under your account?

Since those groups are large, you may want to try the memberOfTransitive property, if your company is running domain controllers at the Windows Server 2012 R2 functional level.

Otherwise, please use Power Query's built-in feedback tool as we would likely need to do some probing in order to understand what's preventing you from listing the users. It could be a bug in PQ, or a limitation of AD that I'm not aware of. We'll reply back to this thread with answers once we get to the bottom it.

Thanks,

Tristan

Wednesday, November 26, 2014 7:32 PM

All replies

• Hi,