SSMS - cannot drop database - in use RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to SQL Server. I just install SQL Server 2008 on my home computer.  I loaded the sample AdventureWorksDW database. I close SSMS and opened it again, then tried the loaded script again and get the message:

Msg 3702, Level 16, State 4, Line 2

Cannot drop database "AdventureWorksDW" because it is currently in use.

I'm the only one using the computer. How do I know the database is in use and how do I close it?

Thank you,
    sboxtops
    sboxtops@aol.com

Wednesday, June 17, 2009 3:59 PM

Answers

• SSMS will keep a foot on the database and will prevent you to drop it if you are currently with the object navigator on the database :-). Move to another database and right click on the database to delete, select drop and you should be fine. If you have any other processes accessing the database beside you, use the

USE Master
    ALTER DATABASE SomeDatabase SET SINGLE_USER WITH ROLLBACK IMMEDIATE
    DROP DATABASE  SomeDatabase

to force the disconnects of current sessions and initiate the deletion.

-Jens

Jens K. Suessmeyer http://blogs.msdn.com/Jenss
    Wednesday, June 17, 2009 6:36 PM
  • If you still find any issue while setting it single user mode....

Use the below mentioned command will drop all existing connection to your Database.

USE master
    go

DECLARE @dbname sysname

SET @dbname = 'PUT YOUR DATABASE NAME HERE'
    DECLARE @spid int
    SELECT @spid = min(spid) from master.dbo.sysprocesses where dbid = db_id(@dbname)
    WHILE @spid IS NOT NULL
    BEGIN
    EXECUTE ('KILL ' + @spid)
    SELECT @spid = min(spid) from master.dbo.sysprocesses where dbid = db_id(@dbname) AND spid > @spid
    go
    DROP DATABASE  @dbname
    END
    go

I hope it would help.

BR
    PRAVEEN BARATH
    Thursday, June 18, 2009 1:05 PM
  • Hi,