Remote PS Commands RRS feed

• Question

• Hi all,

PS newbie here so apologies if I've missed something super simple.

In light of the recent WannaCry attack, I'm trying to remotely disable SMBv1 on a number of our 2012/2012R2 servers using a PS script. I have the following but it isn't working.

foreach ($server in (Get-Content c:\test.txt)) {

write-host "Server Name is: $server"

Set-SmbServerConfiguration -EnableSMB1Protocol $false

}

What have I missed?

Thanks

Dan

Tuesday, May 16, 2017 10:10 AM

All replies

• Well according to the documentation

https://technet.microsoft.com/itpro/powershell/windows/smbshare/set-smbserverconfiguration?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

There is no Computer parameter so I do not think this command works on remote computers. You will need to use Invoke-Command and then pass that command in the scriptblock of Invoke-Command, but for this to work you need PSRemoting enabled and configured on each machine.

All your script is doing is looping through your text file writing each line to the command window and then running the command on the computer the script is running from each time.

Something like this:

$scriptBlock = {
    }

Get-Content C:\test.txt | ForEach { Write-Host "Server name is: $_" Invoke-Command -ComputerName $_ -ScriptBlock $scriptBlock }

If you find that my post has answered your question, please mark it as the answer. If you find my post to be helpful in anyway, please click vote as helpful. (99,108,97,121,109,97,110,50,64,110,121,99,97,112,46,114,114,46,99,111,109|%{[char]$_})-join''

• Edited by clayman2 Tuesday, May 16, 2017 1:03 PM fixed script
    Tuesday, May 16, 2017 11:29 AM
  • Here is something you can use to create the disable SMB1 registry key on your machines remotely; good for a quick fix until you're able to patch properly ex. -  .\Script.ps1 (Get-Content .\Computers.txt)   This fix is mainly for your Win7 and Server2008:
    Param(

[parameter(Mandatory=$true)]
        [String[]]$ComputerName