none
Calculating Days based on quantity function RRS feed

• Question

• Hello!

I am quite new to MS Project, and today I was trying to calculate days in Gantt Chart based on defined quantity, hours of work and pcs per hour.

for example:

Defined Quantity: 600 ([Number1])

Pcs per hour: 3 ([Number2])

Work hours: by default, 8hrs ([duration1])

Work Time Length [duration2]= [Number1] / ( [Number2] * [duration1] )

In calculator, it would show it'll take 25 days to reach to quantity 600, but for some reason MS Project shows 0.05 days, which I have no idea why and what went wrong, so asking your help!

Thank you!

-Tychelle

Monday, November 5, 2018 8:27 PM

All replies

• Tychelle,

Well, you are enjoying the confusing conversion convention of Project's Duration fields. Project stores all time related data in minutes regardless of how that data is displayed in various fields. By using extra Duration fields in your formula, undesired conversions are coming into play. For example, using your values the formula should yield 25 BUT, those 25 "days" are actually in minutes so the result is divided by the number of minutes in a day which is 480. Thus 25/480 gives 0.052.

Make life a whole lot easier for yourself by staying away from Duration fields in your formula and stick with Number fields

Number4={Number1]/([Number2]*[Number3])

But what exactly are you going to do with the result of your formula?

Hope this helps.

John

Monday, November 5, 2018 10:33 PM
  • In addition to John's comprehensive answer, instead of dividing the minutes by 480, you can use the field [minutes per day] which is useful when working with customers who don't work 8 hours per day, or when you write formulas that you might use between different customers.

Ben Howard [MVP] | web | blog | book | downloads | P2O

Tuesday, November 6, 2018 1:47 PM
  • Tychelle --