none
Unable to get GUID from search results RRS feed

• Question

• Thank you in advance for your assistance.

I am making a module for disabling AD accounts when users have been termed. The only changes I have made below is adjusting the OU paths for obvious reasons. Below the code is the error I am receiving, for some reason the $GUID is not getting any information, but when I put the code as a one liner in PS I get a result.

The Write Host commands was just to test out the '!' on the variable, I didn't know it would work.

I am new to coding so any thoughts or suggestions on formatting is also welcome as it is easier to fix a mistake then break a habit.

function Revoke-Account{

[CmdletBinding()]
        [OutputType([int])]

Param
        (
            # This USER ID will be used to collect the GUID from AD to prevent the IT Pro from needing the OU
            [parameter(Mandatory=$False)]
            $UserID,

# This USER Name will be used to collect the GUID from AD to prevent the IT Pro from needing the OU
            [parameter(Mandatory=$False)]
            $UserName

)

if ($UserID)
            {

Write-Host "User ID Has Value"

$GUID = (Get-ADUser -Identity $UserID).ObjectGUID
                Move-ADObject "$GUID" -TargetPath "OU=Users,OU=DHCORP,DC=Corperate,DC=Com"
                Disable-ADAccount -identity $UserID

}

if (!$UserID)    
            {

Write-Host "User Name Has Value"
                $GUID = (Get-ADUser -SearchBase "OU=Users,OU=DHCORP,DC=Corperate,DC=Com" -Filter {(name -eq "$UserName")}).ObjectGUID
                Disable-ADAccount $GUID.ObjectGUID
                Move-ADObject $GUID -TargetPath "OU=Users,OU=DHCORP,DC=Corperate,DC=Com"
            }

----------------------------------------------Error below---------------------------------------------

Disable-ADAccount : Cannot validate argument on parameter 'Identity'. The argument is null. Supply a non-null argument
    and try the command again.