Publish to Add/Remove issue RRS feed

• Question

•  

Hi,

I have a software package, it's an exe and doesn't have the ability to be deployed silently. So i'm testing publishing it to Add/Remove, so users can install it when they wish. But it's not working as i expected it to.

First of all i had to run wuauclt /detectnow from the command prompt

Then if i log on to the workstation as an administrator i can see the deployed program from Add programs.

But if i log on a standard user they can't see the deployed program. In fact when you go into Add programs it doesn't seem to even really try to search for any programs.

I thought that because an administrator authorised the deploying and publishing of the package to the workstation standard users would be able to install it without having administrator rights.

I must be missing something, as i can't see the point of publishing a package if an administrator still has to go and install it.

Hope someone can help.

Andrew

Friday, September 14, 2007 8:24 AM

Answers

• Andrew,

You are correct, standard users (without local admin permissions on the box) will not see or be able to install applications that are published through Add/Remove Programs. This is a limitation in the "AU agent" and there is no way around it.

What you could try to do if you are 100% sure the application can't be installed silent is to repackage the application to a msi file and the add it as a pckage in SCE.

Björn Axéll MVP - Advisec AB

http://blog.advisec.com

Saturday, September 15, 2007 1:33 PM
  • Hi Andrew,

You’re right that we can use SMS Installer to create customized software packages:

Creating Software Installation Packages with SMS Installer (SMS 2003 Operations Guide)

http://www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/sms/sms2003/opsguide/ops_4bsd.mspx?mfr=true

Besides, you may download the Microsoft Windows SDK which includes a tool called Orca. You can download this from here :