need help reading the minidump file RRS feed

• Question

• Hello,

I will randomly get the BSOD and I cannot seem to read the minidump file because of some symbol path issues in the debug software.  Anyway, I am new to this and would like to find out what is causing my crashes.  The minidump file is at the following url:

http://bit.ly/hI9MUp

If anyone could help me diagnose my problem, I would be very thankful.

Thanks...

Tuesday, January 25, 2011 5:03 PM

Answers

• I am not having anymore BSOD's!  I turned off the power saving options of the hard drives within the control panel's power saving advanced management.   I set the option to Never.

The next step is to update the firmware of my external Firewire drive which will require me to backup all the information on that drive and reformat the drive...bummer...but at this point I don't care because I feel like we made document-able progress by isolating the problem and arriving at a solution.

Thanks for all the comments, diagnosis and suggestions.

Sincerely,

Jason.

• Marked as answer by tykomusic Sunday, January 30, 2011 6:40 PM
    Sunday, January 30, 2011 6:40 PM

All replies

• Most people (including myself) are not going to click on an unknown or non-recognizable shortcut. You would be better off uploading the minidump to Skydrive:

http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/w7itproui/thread/4fc10639-02db-4665-993a-08d865088d65

SC Tom
    -There's no such thing as TMI when asking for tech support.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011 5:27 PM
  • Thanks for the tip...I put it in skydrive...

http://cid-c81973a007e0e07a.office.live.com/self.aspx/Minidump/012511-21387-01.dmp

Hopefully there is a bit of a clue within this file?!

Thanks so much

Jason.

Tuesday, January 25, 2011 7:35 PM
  • WhoCrashed came up with

crash dump file: C:\windows\Minidump\012511-21387-01.dmp
    This was probably caused by the following module: ntoskrnl.exe (nt+0x70740)