Simple questions with no answers in sight RRS feed

• Question

• I'm new to SteadyState, and I have taken the time to mess with it, read the help file, and this forum, but I'm missing answers to my most basic questions.  May it's because of how I want to use SteadyState or maybe I'm just daft. Smile

My use centers around a means to test new software.  Typically I use virtual machines for this, but some software I need to install on my base system - using a virtual machine just won't work.  Therefore I'm only interested in the disk protection tools.

My first question is: my computer has my user account (admin level) and what I assume is the default (hidden?) Administrator account, but when logging into Windows I'm not prompted with the Welcome screen to pick which account I want to log in with.  However, after using SteadyState and it's disk protection tools I am.  I do realize I can disable this by with a setting, but why is SteadyState making the welcome screen appear when it's just my admin level and the default administrator accounts?

Second question:  The "Configuring Computer Restrictions" area confuses me.  These settings are applied to the host regardless of the user profiles created in SteadyState...am I correct?  This must mean then that SteadyState is running at all times once Windows is loaded; that there is no way to turn it "off".  That is a little disappointing, if the case, because I'm very fanatical about what processes I have running on my computer at all times.

As a side question, the option under "Configuring Compuer Restrictions" to prevent users from creating files/folders on C:\ appears to do nothing.  With it checked, I am still able to create files/folders.  Why?