Help diagnosing a sporadic long running proc RRS feed

• Question

• We have a nightly ETLV job that our 30 clients run every night. Depending on the size of the client, it can run from 1 to 7 hours. We have one client, clientX, where the etlv job takes about 7 hours. But about 3 times a month, it takes 20 hours. Looking at the logs, it is always the same proc, procx, that is the issue. Normally procx runs at clientx for 35 minutes. But these 3 times a month it runs 838, 839, 828, 835, or 825 minutes. And then procx finishes successfully! There does NOT seem to be a pattern on day of week, time of day procx starts, time of day procx finishes, amount of data, etc. But it is so strange that if it does not finish in 35 or so minutes, it finishes in 832 +- 7 minutes.

Yesterday when the etlv at clientx was running over by several hours, i could tell by our log that it was in procx. I did a sp_who2 and there was nothing in the BlkBy column for any SPID. Unfortunately I am not good with diagnosing performance problems and do not remember exactly what sp_who2 said about procx. Know that it was not taking any CPU. Believe that the Status was Suspended. The Command said Update.

What can I do so that in the future so that I can better diagnose the issue? I know that it is procx which has 3 insert and 10 update statements to the same db. I do not want to do something that will impact the entire etlv job, which is already pushing its 7 hour limit.

I want some diagnosis steps that I can run if I am called while procx is running. And I would like some diagnosis steps that I can setup in advance because many times I am just told that "oh, yesterday we had that issue again.'

Thanks

Thursday, December 11, 2014 4:45 PM

Answers

• Did you have a look at sp_lock and wait stats dmvs?

also profiler

https://www.simple-talk.com/sql/performance/how-to-identify-slow-running-queries-with-sql-profiler/

Please Mark This As Answer if it solved your issue