none
Beginner RRS feed

• Question

• HI ,

Im a beginner for MAP toolkit,

i need steps to run the reports.I need info about hardware n software in my domain.

Pls any1 assist me.

thanks,

Wednesday, August 27, 2014 5:58 AM

All replies

• You can take a look at the Getting Started Guide which will take you through the process of preparing your environment and figuring out what inventory scenarios you may want to choose in the inventory wizard, but there isn't a step-by-step for Usage Tracking specifically. This is because there is no such thing as a “standard” or “typical” network environment. This will require you to take the general information provided in the documentation and extrapolate that to determine how it applies to your environment.

In regards to licensing, I would like to make the distinction that MAP is just a data collection tool and does not determine compliance. Licensing is mostly about documentation and you can use MAP to help compare what it finds to what you have for license documentation. If you have any issues with using MAP or generating reports, then I can help, but I don’t know about licensing, so you will need to direct those questions to the licensing professional you are working with.

There isn't any one report that will give you everything you need for the audit, since the information required can vary. Here are some of the more common ones that you can use; I will try to break them into groups. All of these reports can be generated from each scenario's detail page, most of which are found under the Usage Tracking scenario group.

For Windows operating systems: